Radcliffe Hall Primary School pupils
Hero slider graphic

Our Board

The Sycamore Church of England Trust is a charitable company (a company limited by guarantee and an exempt charity) which exists for the provision of education.


Every trust has members who have a similar role to shareholders of a company limited by shares. The members of an academy Trust have a different status from the Trustees. 

The Academies Financial Handbook (2022) summarises the role of members as follows. They: 

  • are the subscribers to the memorandum of association (where they are founding members)
  • may amend the articles of association subject to any restrictions created by the funding agreement or charity law
  • Members have an overview of the governance arrangements of the Trust and have the power to appoint Trustees and remove these Trustees may, by special resolution, issue direction to the trustees to take a specific action
  • appoint the trust’s external auditors and receive (but do not sign) the audited annual report and accounts (subject to the Companies Act)
  • have power to change the company’s name and, ultimately, wind it up

Members must not be employees of the Trust nor occupy staff establishment roles on an unpaid voluntary basis. While members can also be Trustees, retaining some distinction between the two layers ensures that members, independent of Trustees, provide oversight and challenge.

In the Sycamore Church of England Trust the Members, acting corporately and by majority vote, appoint members of the Board of Trustees. Members may remove any Trustees appointed by them) and receive the Trust’s Annual Report, including its annual accounts.

In addition, in accordance with the requirements of the Companies Act 2006, Sections 489 and 490, the members ensure the Trust has legally appointed auditors.


New Trustees are recruited from time to time. This is done in a transparent way using a role description and an indication of the areas of specialist skill, experience or expertise the Board wishes to strengthen in the light of an audit of skills and experience. 

In accordance with our Articles of Association, the Foundation Trustees must always hold an overall majority of at least two. It is the Foundation Members who appoint the Foundation Trustees. Where it is felt by the Foundation Trustees that additional skills are required on the Board, with the consent of the Diocesan Board of Education, they may appoint additional Co-opted Trustees.

The Board of Trustees discharges its responsibilities through meetings 4-6 times per year which include all Trustees, including the CEO, and the CFO in attendance. 

It receives reports from:

  • The CEO summarising the achievements and challenges of the Trust against the Trust’s development plan, and any strategic decisions the Trust faces
  • All Local Academy Committees, comprising a year group by year group analysis of standards and updates on progress to development plan targets
  • Trustees’ Finance Committee – with all Trust level financial reporting and a report from the CFO Trustees’ Standards Committee – summarising end of key stage anticipated performance at each termly data drop and performance against Ofsted criteria in each category
  • Director of Operations report summarising key activities as well as key HR measures of Trust, programme management, risk register & compliance (including school website content, H&S & mandatory policies)

Our Members

Current Members
Name of Member Position in Trust Type of Member Appointed by Date of appointment Date of resignation
Ms Helen Clark Member Parochial Church Council Christ Church Original (signatory) members 01/05/2022 N/A
Mr Mark Granby Member Chair of Trustees Original (signatory) members 01/06/2017 N/A
Mr Anthony Lee Member Additional Member Original (signatory) members 01/06/2017 N/A
Canon Donna Williams Member Bury Area Dean  Foundation/sponsor members 15/01/2024 N/A
Ms Deborah Smith Member Manchester Diocesan Board of Education Foundation/sponsor members 06/01/2023 N/A

Our Trustees

Current Trustees
Name of Trustee  Position in Trust Type of Trustee Appointed by Term of Office
Mr Mark Granby Chair of Trustees Foundation Academy Members 01/06/2021 – 31/05/2025
Mrs Janet Adams Trustee Foundation Academy Members 01/06/2021 – 31/05/2025
Mr Alan Beedie Trustee Foundation Academy Members 01/07/2023 - 30/06/2027
Mr John Hall Trustee Foundation Academy Members 02/03/2020 – 01/03/2027
Ms Kathryn Sowden Trustee Co-opted Academy Members 01/09/2021 – 31/08/2025
Mr David Taylor Trustee Foundation Academy Members 02/03/2020 – 01/03/2027
Mr Ian Young CEO / Accounting Officer Foundation Academy Members N/A

Our Local Academy Committees

Christ Church CE Primary School

Name Role and Appointed By Date of Appointment and Terms of Office Resignation Date (if applicable)
Katherine Ashworth Chair, Appointed by Foundation/Trust 13.09.22 - 12.09.26 N/A
Sarah Howard   Ex-officio by virtue of office as Headteacher 01.01.2019 N/A
Danny Broadhurst Elected by Parents 30.06.22 - 30.06.25 N/A
Janet Fitton Appointed by Foundation/Trust 01.06.20 - 16.02.24 16.02.24
Danielle Holt Elected by School Staff 01.01.24 - 31.12.26 N/A
Dominique Stead Elected by Parents 01.06.21 - 31.05.24 N/A
Julie Benson  Appointed by the Foundation 04.09.23 - 01.09.26 N/A

Radcliffe Hall CE Methodist Primary School

Name Role and Appointed By Date of Appointment and Terms of Office Resignation Date (if applicable)
Jane Close Chair,  Appointed by Foundation/Trust 01.06.19 - 31.05.24 N/A
Helen Chatburn  Appointed by Foundation/Trust 31.05.22 - 01.06.26 N/A
Shirley Thornton Appointed by Foundation/Trust 01.06.19 - 31.05.26 N/A
Paul Wilson

Appointed by Foundation/Trust

Ex-officio by virtue of office as Headteacher





Alexandru Lascar Elected by Parents 16.10.23 - 16.10.27 N/A
Natalie Curley Elected by Parents 16.10.23 - 16.10.27  N/A
Rebecca Healey Elected by School  01.09.23 - 31.08.27 N/A

St John's CE Primary School

Name Role and Appointed By Date of Appointment and Terms of Reference Resignation Date (if applicable)
Maria Boyle Chair, Appointed by Foundation/Trust 01.03.21 - 27.02.28 N/A
Phil Chapman Appointed by Foundation/Trust 19.12.22 - 19.12.26 N/A
Elizabeth Cook Ex-officio by virtue of office as Headteacher 01.01.22 N/A
Lisa Fleming Elected by Parents 05.10.21 - 04.10.24 N/A
Mary Hayes Elected by Parents 22.03.21 - 21.03.24 N/A
Bob Hunter Elected by School Staff 31.01.24 - 31.01.28 N/A

St Stephen's C.E. Primary School

Name Role and Appointed by Date of Appointment and Terms of Office  Resignation Date (if applicable)
Sarah Howard Chair, Safeguarding, Training & Development Link Governor 20.07.21 N/A
James Roles  Health & Safety Governor 01.10.21 N/A
Cllr Luis McBriar SEND Governor 23.03.21 N/A
Paul Sanderson  Ex-officio Governor  01.09.19 N/A
Jackie Harris  Local Authority Governor  01.05.19 N/A
Lisa McCullough Vice Chair & Pupil Premium Governor 01.07.22 N/A
Nazia Arshid  Parent Governor  01.07.22 N/A
Jane Parsons Head Teacher 01.09.16 N/A
Sally Denney Acting Head Teacher  09.17 N/A